That unrequited love.

In Greek mythology, there’s a god that’s in charge of desire, erotic love, attraction and affection. His name is Cupid; often referred to as the son of Venus – the goddess of love. He oftentimes uses his weapon of the bow and arrow to strike other beings so they feel either uncontrollable desire for something else or the desire to flee. It is said that if he strikes two beings with a single gold arrow, they will fall madly in love (or the exact opposite if using a lead arrow).

But what if he misses and only strikes one?

One will fall in love while the other will not – causing the epitome of the phrase: unrequited love. It is as if the wolf is in love with the moon and cries for a love that it will never touch. Or like a stack of domino tiles carefully placed with the first tile falls for one but they fall for another. It’s the loneliness of being in love with someone completely and without reserve but also knowing that you are not loved that way in return.

So I can ignore him, pretend he doesn’t exist, but I pray to God that He knows what He is doing and that we aren’t supposed to end up like this. I guess I’m still holding on to something that I know will probably never happen, because somewhere deep down inside me, there’s a piece of hope that someday, it will.

One comment

  1. JoAnne · July 21, 2015

    “Self love is never unrequited.” I wish I could remember who wrote that. And since I know you are a Christian, I can comfortably tell you that love for God is always returned. In fact, it was there all along. In my lonely years, I used to sing love songs with the radio, except I’d change the words so that I was singing to Jesus. When the time is right, the right person will come along. Thank you for following my blogs, “Anything is Possible,” and “Loving Me, Too.” I hope and pray you will find comfort in some of my posts, and even more in the love of the God who loves you deeply and profoundly, forever, no matter what!

Leave a Reply

