Time Happens

My grandpa is 87 years old this year. He’s ultra healthy considering the other seniors in his age group. He drives, cooks for himself, takes care of my grandma and on top of all that, bakes cakes/desserts like a boss. I remember the last time he boasted how healthy he was considering his age: “I’m 75 years old and can still wrestle tigers like a boss, don’t you worry about me.” But on Saturday when I saw him lying on the hospital bed, post-colon surgery, I noticed how much he has changed, and I am beginning to worry. From his first colon surgery up until now, he had lost a total of 20 lbs. 20 lbs might not sound a lot, but for a senior, it is quite a bit. His face, arms, and neck just seemed to have a bit more wrinkles. His voice was softer and less solid.

While I am wanting to quickly grow up and become an adult, the people around me are experiencing the same time shift as me. As I age a year, gain more wisdom, knowledge and world experience, my grandparents are equally gaining a year, fighting through old people sicknesses and battling with their worn out bodies. And for the first time, I want time to stop. I no longer want to grow older; I no longer want my grandparents to age.

Granpapa, I miss the version of you that could whisk me up into the air without losing his breath. I want you to be able to teach me how to make the world’s best tasting bread again. I wish to see you plant all your favourite trees, shrubs, and flowers in our garden again.

I just want you to be healthy again.

Leave a Reply

