The girl you met when you were too young

We all have that one person in our life that we can move on from, but can never fully let go. I certainly do. Whether it was timing, location, life’s other events, other people or even our own selves, we allowed each other to slip away. Maybe it was because we were too young to comprehend what it meant to fight. I look back on this relationship as an older, more mature, and hopefully wiser person and see that perhaps a few situations could’ve been handled more differently, a few words shouldn’t have been said, or a few extra hugs could’ve made the problem disappear.

We were young, and we didn’t know. We didn’t know what it meant to fight for each other. We didn’t know what heartbreak was. We didn’t realize the bond we shared was unlike any we would ever have again.

But I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

From you, I learned a lot about life, about you, and about myself. I wouldn’t trade anything for the nights we spent holding each other like we were afraid that if we let go, everything would fall apart. And I can’t comprehend how I would feel if I saw you holding someone else. After us, I had dated other men. All were amazing people, but none were you. And now coming back full circle, I realized that I’m still in love with you. My mind is constantly thinking about you. I still want you.

I want to be that girl you met when you were too young and didn’t know how to love. And when you’re older and know how to, you realize that you still love me. But it won’t be too late, because I will always love you.

Leave a Reply

