When I grow old, they age too.

As a child, all I wanted was to advance into my adolescent years. The years when you experience your first date, first heartbreak, first party, first driving lesson, and all the other ‘first’s you can think of. When I reached my adolescent years, all I wanted was to be independent. I wanted to drive myself around, stay out past midnight, or move out and live the grown-up life. Now that I have a full-time job after university while paying off my car loan and student loan, I want time to slow down; not because of the multiple new stresses in my life, but because I realized as I add years onto my life, so do the people around me.

My parents aren’t the same young, hip, energetic parents I remembered from when I was five years old. They’ve grown more frail, with more wrinkles around the corners of their eyes, and more weak in terms of what they can physically handle. Then I started to realize that not only were my parents aging, but my grandparents were also aging as well. It’s a simple concept really, if I add years to my life, my grandparents will too.

My grandpa turns 91 this year, and I’ve never realized that he was so much older than I was. He used to tell me stories on how he had traveled to so many places on a ship as a young man. How he could “wrestle 50 tigers” if he wanted to. But now, as he’s about to embark on a tough journey of chemotherapy and radiation therapy for his cancer, all he wants is his children and grandchildren to not worry about him.

It’s inevitable that people grow old. But Time, can you please slow down?

Leave a Reply

